3 Mets records that could be broken by current players

Pete Alonso watching a home run against the Washington Nationals on May 11, 2022 at Nationals Park
Pete Alonso watching a home run against the Washington Nationals on May 11, 2022 at Nationals Park / Greg Fiume/GettyImages
1 of 3

The New York Mets’ storied history includes many unbreakable individual records given the present structure and philosophy of baseball, but there are three records that can be broken by current players on the Mets roster with the talents they possess.

But this is another place to recognize the talent that is on this team, and as such they are all capable of taking this team to another level on the quest for a third championship in team history.

Home Runs – Career: Pete Alonso (currently 114, record is 252)

Mets fans remember how Pete Alonso took the sport by storm in 2019 when he set the rookie home run record with 53 in that historic campaign, and fans started wondering what records he could break within the franchise. After all, he had just finished his age-24 season, and already embedded himself among the sport’s elite power hitters.

Alonso’s status as a scary home run threat continued after that, hitting 16 in the COVID-19 shortened campaign in 2020, and then 37 in 2021.

So far in 2022, the deadened baseball hasn’t impacted Alonso as much, as he leads the team with eight big blasts, currently on pace for 36 this year.

The career home run mark is an obvious team record that comes to mind when fans talk about Alonso. Darryl Strawberry currently holds that mark; he smashed 252 of them in a Mets uniform from 1983 to 1990. According to Baseball Reference, Strawberry averaged 37 home runs per 162 games as a Met, while Alonso has averaged 45.

Now at 27, Alonso is entering the prime of his career, where he should continue to slay baseballs and knock them out of the park. Alonso should also be on his way to becoming the team’s all-time home run king on the pace is on, as long as he signs a long-term contract extension that keeps him beyond his last year of team control, which is 2024.